Academic Calendars

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit


Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1


Academic Year 2017 - 2018

Fall 2017

August 23-25, Wed. p.m.-Fri. Orientation/Registration, First Year and Transfer Students
August 24-27, Thurs.-Sun. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
MANDATORY ATTENDANCE
August 28, Mon. Classes begin
September 4, Mon. Labor Day holiday - no classes
September 28, Thurs. (last lecture)
October 6, Fri. (last class)
Trial Advocacy Classes End (dates approximate), Trials TBA
October 12, Thurs. University Day - No classes between 9:30am-12:30pm
October 13, Fri. 1L Practice Exams 2:00-5:00 p.m.
October 19-20, Thurs.-Fri. Fall break begins after final class on Wed., Oct. 18
October 23, Mon. Classes resume
November 22, Wed. Friday classes meet
November 23-24, Thurs.-Fri. Thanksgiving Recess (begins after final class on Wed, Nov 22)
November 28, Tues. Thursday classes meet
December 1, Fri. Classes End
December 4, Mon. Reading Day
December 5, Tues. Examinations Begin
December 15, Fri. Examinations End
Possible Make Up Exams on Mon., December 18
December 17, Sun. Commencement
January 9, 2018, Tues. 1L Grades Due
January 16, 2018, Tues, 2L & 3L Grades Due

Spring 2018

January 3-6, Wed.-Sat. AALS Annual Meeting
January 4-7, Thurs.-Sun. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
MANDATORY ATTENDANCE
January 8, Mon. Classes begin
January 15, Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday - no classes
February 8, Thurs. (last lecture)
February 16, Fri. (last class)
Trial Advocacy Classes End (dates approximate), Trials TBA
March 9, Fri. Spring break begins at 5:00 p.m.
March 19, Mon. Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
March 30, Fri. Spring Holiday - no classes
April 17, Tues FRIDAY classes meet and Classes End
April 18-20, Wed.-Fri. Reading Days
Inclement Weather Make-Up Days (if needed)
April 23, Mon. Examinations Begin
May 4, Fri. Examinations End
May 12-13, Sat.-Sun. Graduation Weekend
May 31, Thurs. Grades Due

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility


If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.