Academic Calendars

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit


Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1


Comprehensive Calendar

Academic Year 2015 - 2016

Fall 2015

August 11-18, Tues.-Tues. LL.M. Orientation Classes
August 13-14, Thurs.-Fri. LEAP - 2 Day
August 17-19, Mon.-Wed. LEAP - 3 Day
August 19, Wed. Orientation for Foreign Exchange Students
August 19-21, Wed. p.m.-Fri. Orientation/Registration for 1L Students
August 20-23, Thurs.-Sun. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
MANDATORY ATTENDANCE
August 24, Mon. First day of classes
September 7, Mon. Labor Day holiday - no classes
September 24, Thurs. Trial Advocacy Lectures End
October 2, Fri. Trial Advocacy Classes End, Trials TBA
October 9, Fri. 1L Practice Exams 2-5 p.m.
October 12, Mon. University Day - NO CLASSES between 10am - 1pm
October 15-16, Thurs.-Fri. Fall break begins after final class on Wed., Oct. 14
October 19, Mon. Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
November 24, Tues. THURSDAY Classes Meet
November 25, Wed. FRIDAY Classes Meet and Last Day of Classes
November 26-27, Thurs.-Fri. Thanksgiving recess begins after final class on Wed., Nov. 25
November 30, Mon. Reading Day
December 1, Tues. Examinations Begin
December 11, Fri. Examinations End
Possible Make Up Exams on December 14
December 13, Sun. Commencement
January 12, 2016, Tues. 1L Grades Due
January 19, 2016, Tues 2L & 3L Grades Due

Spring 2016

January 6-9, Wed.-Sat. AALS Annual Meeting
January 7-10, Thurs.-Sun. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
MANDATORY ATTENDANCE
January 11, Mon. First day of classes
January 18, Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday - no classes
February 11, Thurs. Trial Advocacy Lectures End
February 19, Mon. Trial Advocacy Classes End, Trials TBA
March 11, Fri. Spring break begins at 5:00 p.m.
March 21, Mon. Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
March 25, Fri Spring Holiday - no classes
Inclement Weather Make-Up Day - if needed
April 19, Tues. FRIDAY Classes Meet and last day of classes
April 20, Wed. Reading Day
Inclement Weather Make-Up Days - if needed
April 21, Thurs. Exams Begin
May 4, Wed. Examinations End
May 7-8, Sat.-Sun. Graduation Weekend
May 31, Tues. Grades Due

Summer Session 2015

May 11, Mon. Externship Orientation
May 12, Tues. Externships Begin
May 12, Tues. First day of classes
May 25, Mon. Memorial Day Holiday - no classes
June 15, Mon. Last day of classes
June 16-17, Tues.-Wed. Reading Days
June 18-19, Thurs.-Fri. Exams
June 26, Fri. Externships end
July 6, Mon. Grades due

Academic Year 2016 - 2017

Summer Session 2016

May 9, Mon. Externship orientation
May 10, Tues. Externships begin
May 10, Tues. Classes begin
May 30, Mon. Memorial Day Holiday - no classes
June 13, Mon. Classes End
June 14-15, Tues.-Wed. Reading Days
June 16-17, Thurs.-Fri. Exams
June 24, Fri. Externship ends
July 5, Tues. Grades due

Fall 2016

August 24-26, Wed. p.m.-Fri. Orientation/Registration, First Year Students
August 25-28, Thurs.-Sun. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
MANDATORY ATTENDANCE
August 29, Mon. Classes begin
September 5, Mon. Labor Day holiday - no classes
September 29, Thurs. (last lecture)
October 7, Fri. (last class)
Trial Advocacy Classes End (dates approximate), Trials TBA
October 12, Wed. University Day - No classes between 10am-1pm
October 14, Fri. 1L Practice Exams 2:00-5:00 p.m.
October 20-21, Thurs.-Fri. Fall break begins after final class on Wed., Oct. 19
October 24, Mon. Classes resume
November 23, Wed. Friday classes meet
November 24-25, Thurs.-Fri. Thanksgiving Recess (begins after final class on Wed, Nov 2)
November 29, Tues. Thursday classes meet
December 2, Fri. Classes End
December 5, Mon. Reading Day
December 6, Tues. Examinations Begin
December 16, Fri. Examinations End
Possible Make Up Exams on December 19
December 18, Sun. Commencement
January 10, 2017, Tues. 1L Grades Due
January 17, 2017, Tues, 2L & 3L Grades Due

Spring 2017

January 3-7, Tues.-Sat. AALS Annual Meeting
January 5-8, Thurs.-Sun. Trial Advocacy Intensive Session
MANDATORY ATTENDANCE
January 9, Mon. Classes begin
January 16, Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday - no classes
February 9, Thurs. (last lecture)
February 17, Fri. (last class)
Trial Advocacy Classes End (dates approximate), Trials TBA
March 10, Fri. Spring break begins at 5:00 p.m.
March 20, Mon. Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
April 14, Fri. Spring Holiday - no classes
April 18, Tues FRIDAY classes meet and Classes End
April 19-21, Wed.-Fri. Inclement Weather Make-Up Days (if needed) --
Reading Day
April 24, Mon. Examinations Begin
May 5, Fri. Examinations End
May 13-14, Sat.-Sun. Graduation Weekend
May 31, Wed. Grades Due
UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106


If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.