Boards and Committees

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

UNC Law Foundation

The UNC Law Foundation, Inc., is organized exclusively for charitable objects and purposes that are for the sole benefit of the School of Law at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The foundation, represented by members of the Office of Advancement at the School of Law, aids, supports and promotes teaching, research, and service at the School of Law. The foundation encourages the establishment of endowment funds for purposes including, but not limited to, professorships, visiting professorships, fellowships and scholarships at the School of Law. The foundation solicits, acquires, receives, holds, invests, reinvests, sells, transfers, exchanges, administers and manages property of all kinds for the benefit of the School of Law and makes expenditures to and for the benefit of the School of Law.

Law Foundation Board

  • M. Ann Cox '85, Atlanta, GA, President
  • Tracy Calder '84, Charlotte, NC, Vice President
  • Martin Brinkley '92, Raleigh, NC, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Joe Austin '78, Raleigh, NC
  • Elizabeth Bower '01, Bethesda, MD
  • Chalk Broughton '98, Southern Pines, NC
  • Mary Campbell '84, New York, NY
  • Richard Farley '87, Charlotte, NC
  • Kevin Howell '92, Raleigh, NC
  • Gary London '79, Birmingham, AL
  • Charles Plambeck '86, Princeton, NJ
  • Wilson White '06, Redwood City, CA
  • Angie Xenakis '03, Washington, D.C.


All Carolina Law alumni are members of the UNC Law Alumni Association, a committee of the UNC Law Foundation. The Alumni Association connects and engages alumni, students, and faculty of the UNC School of Law through social, educational, and professional activities. Consistent with the purposes of the Law Foundation, it is dedicated to advancing the School, and its alumni and other communities, locally and globally, as leaders in law.

The Alumni Association is governed by the Alumni Board with officers of a President, Vice-President(s) and Secretary. Committees of the Alumni Association are organized to fulfill the association’s mission to engage and connect alumni.

The association sponsors an annual Law Reunion Weekend, Scholarship Golf Classic, Bluegrass & BBQ tailgate party, events for students as well as other regional events throughout the country.

Who are Carolina Law Alumni?

Carolina Law's 11,000+ graduates have become distinguished educators, honored judges, leaders in business, outstanding practitioners and leaders in government -- including members of Congress, counsel to government agencies and hundreds of state and local elected officials.

A majority of the school's graduates practice law in North Carolina, but alumni are found in all 50 states and in 15 countries, with large concentrations in New York, Atlanta and Washington, D.C. Forty percent of all attorneys practicing in North Carolina are Carolina Law graduates.

For more information about our board and committees, contact Carrie Clifford, Director of Alumni and Donor Relations.


Executive Committee

  • President
    Karen A. Popp '85
  • First Vice President
    James M. Deal '74
  • Second Vice President
    Brian D. Meacham '03
  • Past President (2018)
    Scott P. Vaughn '86
  • Past President (2017)
    Barbara B. "Bonnie" Weyher '77
  • Past President (2016)
    Walter D. Fisher Jr. '86
  • Dean, UNC School of Law - Secretary
    Martin H. Brinkley '92
  • Law Foundation Chair
    M. Ann Cox '85
  • Advancement Committee Chair
  • Alumni Engagement Committee Chairs
    Claire Hunter Duff '10 and Angela M. Liu '09
  • Community Outreach Committee Chair
    James M. Deal '74
  • Pro Bono Alumni Board Chair
    Lauren Cranford Katzeff ’12

School of Law

  • Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
    Deirdre W. Gordon, associate dean for advancement
  • 2019-2020 SBA President
    Maya Weinstein '20

Board of Directors

  • Holly H. Alderman '89, Chapel Hill, NC
  • The Honorable R. Allen Baddour Jr '97, Chapel Hill, NC
  • John H. Anderson '02, Wilmington, NC
  • Yoel H. Balter '07, Wilmington, NC
  • Kevin J. Bishop '05, New York, NY
  • Dr. S. Gregory "Greg" Boyd '04, New York, NY
  • R. J. Charleston '86, Fayetteville, NC
  • Anne C. Choe '09, Washington, D.C.
  • Marion A. Cowell Jr. '64, Charlotte, NC
  • Ann Cox '85, Atlanta, GA
  • Fred A. Cunningham '88, Palm Beach Gardens, FL
  • James M. Deal Jr. '74, Boone, NC
  • Claire H. Duff '10, Raleigh, NC
  • William T. "Bill" Dymond Jr. '85, Orlando, FL
  • Jason D. Evans '01, Charlotte, NC
  • Melanie C. Falco '04, Freehold, NJ
  • Walter D. Fisher Jr. '86, Charlotte, NC
  • The Honorable Carl R. Fox '78, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Michelle L. Frazier '96, Raleigh, NC
  • Tristan A. Fuierer '03, Durham, NC
  • Ronald L. Gibson '78, Charlotte, NC
  • Caroline C. Hall '15, Daniel Island, SC
  • Penelope L. Hefner '07, Monroe, NC
  • David W. Hood '91, Hickory, NC
  • Amy K. Johnson '94, Charlotte, NC
  • Mitchell P. Johnson '00, Statesville, NC
  • Ken C. Joseph '96, New York, NY
  • Vaibhav P. "Wab" Kadaba '97, Atlanta. GA
  • William M. "Will" Keyser III '01, Washington, D.C.
  • David F. Kirby '77, Raleigh, NC
  • Angela M. Liu '09, Chicago, IL
  • Richard L. "Rick" Magee '83, Charlotte, NC
  • Sarah C. McIntyre '14, Durham, NC
  • Danielle McLean '10, Maxton, NC
  • Brian D. Meacham '03, Raleigh, NC
  • Ramona C. O'Bryant '85, Greensboro, NC
  • Leslie C. Packer '86, Raleigh, NC
  • William H. Page Jr. '86, Washington, NC
  • Tanner S. Pilcher '03, Richmond, VA
  • Karen A. Popp '85, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Rose C. Prey '04, New York, NY
  • William R. Purcell III '15, Laurinburg, NC
  • Gustavus A. "Gus" Puryear IV '93, Nashville, TN
  • Thomas E. "Tom" Reilly '96, Atlanta. GA
  • Henry H. Robbins '04, Birmingham, AL
  • Richard A. "Rick" Simpson '77, Washington, D.C.
  • Robin J. Stinson '84, Winston-Salem, NC
  • Richard H. Strader '85, Atlanta. GA
  • Watsi M. Sutton '00, Washington, NC
  • Henry P. "Hank" Van Hoy II '74, Mocksville, NC
  • Scott P. Vaughn '86, Charlotte, NC
  • Joni L. Walser '86, Norwalk, CT
  • Reich L. Welborn '71, Durham, NC
  • Barbara B. "Bonnie" Weyher '77, Raleigh, NC
  • The Honorable Frank D. Whitney '87, Charlotte, NC
  • Debbie K. Wright '83, Chicago, IL
  • Alicia L. Young '96, Fayetteville, NC
  • Ann Y. Young '75, Asheville, NC
  • Angela H. Zimmern '03, Charlotte, NC
UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.