Remembering a University Icon

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

Chancellor William B. Aycock '48

Aycock, center

Aycock, at center, with colleague and friend J. Dickson Phillips '48, left, and several former Carolina Law classmates including William C. Friday '48, far left.

Aycock, left

Aycock with J. Dickson Phillips '48, Kenneth S. Broun and others.

Aycock at the announcement of Martin Brinkley '92 being named dean of Carolina Law

William B. Aycock '48 attends the June 5 ceremony announcing Martin H. Brinkley '92 as 14th dean of UNC School of Law. Aycock, a longtime mentor to Brinkley, attended the ceremony a few weeks before his passing.

Melanie Busbee

Aycock at desk


Aycock, seated bottom left, with fellow classmates in 1948

A leader as a student prior to joining the faculty, Aycock, seated bottom left, with fellow classmates, including future UNC President William Friday.

Celebrating a New Dean

William B. Aycock '48 attends the June 5 ceremony announcing Martin H. Brinkley '92 as 14th dean of UNC School of Law. Seated, from left: Judge J. Dickson Phillips '48, Brinkley, Aycock. Standing: Professor and outgoing Dean John Charles "Jack" Boger '74, Professor Emeritus Paul G. Haskell, Chancellor Carol Folt.

Melanie Busbee

Aycock teaching

Aycock, Wegner and his daughter, Nancy

Aycock during his time as chancellor, 1957 - 1964.

Aycock served as the second chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, a position he took on invitation from UNC President and former classmate William C. Friday.

Aycock with Bill Murdinson, '70

Aycock speaking

Aycock, second from left with Dickson Phillips, Henry Brandis, Seymour Wurfel and Freddy McCall

From left to right are the Honorable J. Dickson Phillips '48, a judge for the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals and the dean of Carolina Law from 1964 to 1974; Aycock; Henry Brandis Jr., dean of Carolina Law from 1949 to 1964; Seymour Wurfel; and Freddy B. McCall. (1972)


Previous Photo Next Photo

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.