Class of 1965

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

The UNC Law Alumni Association and UNC School of Law are proud to welcome back the class of 1965. Comprised of 78 living members in 14 states and the District of Columbia, the class of 1965 will be celebrating their 50th reunion and will be honored as members of the Golden Tar Heels.


Class reunion representatives serve as members of their class reunion committee. As a working group of dedicated volunteers, these alumni will be reaching out to their classmates in order to achieve two important goals – inviting their classmates to return to the law school for Law Reunion Weekend and encouraging their classmates to support the class gift effort.

  • Ronald Harry Davis
  • Wade Hampton Hargrove Jr.
  • Robert Bobo Long Jr.

Contact Dana Dubis, director of annual giving, at 919.445.0166 or for more information or to volunteer to serve as a class reunion representative.

Class Members

Alumni who have indicated that they plan to attend Law Reunion Weekend May 1-2, 2015 are in italics below. Once registration opens in February, registered attendees will be marked in bold text. Alumni who have made a gift or pledge in support of this year's Reunion Campaign may be identified by the Old Well symbol. Do not see your name on the list? Contact Susan McLean at (last updated 4/15/15)

  • Arch Turner Allen III, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Frank Bayard Aycock III, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Steven Blackwell, Mars Hill, N.C.
  • Brown Hill Boswell Jr., Montgomery, Ala.
  • Elliott Grayson Bourne Jr., Springfield, Mo.
  • Ralph Taylor Bowden Jr., Gainesville, Fla.
  • R. Lane Brown III, Cheraw, S.C.
  • Scott Newton Brown Jr., Chattanooga, Tenn.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Richard Lee Burrows, Rose Hill, N.C.
  • Thomas Roberts Cannon, Raleigh, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Thomas Edward Capps, Richmond, Va.
  • Frederick M. Carmichael, New Bern, N.C.
  • Robert Moye Chandler Jr., Rocky Mount, N.C.
  • Cleveland Price Cherry, Rocky Mount, N.C.
  • Robert Burns Clark Jr., Manhattan Beach, Calif.
  • Harry Sykes Cline, Belleair Beach, Fla.
  • William Thomas Cozart, Wilson, N.C.
  • Richard Maurice Dailey Jr., Greensboro, N.C.
  • Ronald Harry Davis, Matthews, N.C.
  • Robert Cowan DeRosset III, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Colonel Richard D. S. Dixon Jr., Pinehurst, N.C.
  • Robert Leon Edwards, Winston-Salem, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Douglas George Eisele, Troutman, N.C.
  • Sheldon Leslie Fogel, Beverly Hills, Calif.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Peter Allen Foley, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Reginald Morton Fountain Jr., Greenville, N.C.
  • P. Douglas Freedle, Tampa, Fla.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Thomas Alfred Gilliam Jr., Havertown, Pa.
  • A. Dumay Gorham Jr., Wilmington, N.C.
  • Charles Patterson Green Jr., Raleigh, N.C.
  • Wade Hampton Hargrove Jr., Raleigh, N.C. Reunion Campaign Participant
  • W. Thompson Harris Jr., Raleigh, N.C.
  • James Claude Hightower III, Clearwater, Fla.
  • Inar Carl Hillman Jr., Chicago, Ill.
  • Robert Carl Hord Jr., Charlotte, N.C.
  • The Honorable Clarence Edgar Horton Jr., Kannapolis, N.C.
  • Marcus Hudson, Chapel Hill, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Howard Samuel Irvin, Concord, N.C.
  • Benner Jones III, Fayetteville, N.C.
  • Michael Scott Kennedy, Shelby, N.C.
  • Harry Wayne Lawrence, Wilmington, N.C.
  • Robert Bobo Long Jr., Asheville, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • E. Lynwood Mallard Jr., Charlotte, N.C.
  • Daniel Alston Manning, Grandy, N.C.
  • Robert Arthur Melott, Raleigh, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Roy H. Michaux Jr., Charlotte, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • William Hicks Miller, Tryon, N.C.
  • Franklin Moyle Montgomery, Cary, N.C.
  • Reuben Leslie Moore Jr., Chapel Hill, N.C.
  • Peyton Ring Neal Jr., Supply, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Charles W. Ogletree, Columbia, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Barry Ansen Osmun, Cary, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Matthew Nelson Ott Jr., Richmond, Va.
  • Gerald Allen Pell, Greensboro, N.C.
  • James Ethan Pell, Greensboro, N.C.
  • William Larry Porter, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Charles Rouse Pusser Jr., Chesterfield, S.C.
  • Charles David Randall, Cherryville, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • James Dietrich Renger, Charlotte, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • O. Leonard Richardson Jr., Charlotte, N.C.
  • Waverly Hale Robinson, Charlotte, N.C.
  • William Gane Robinson, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Vernon Haskins Rochelle, Morehead City, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Julia Lauder Sayles, Washington, D.C.
  • E. S. Schlosser Jr., Greensboro, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Leonard Bradley Shaffer, Apex, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • James Moore Shannonhouse Jr., Charlotte, N.C.
  • Robert Eugene Smith, Raleigh, N.C.Reunion Campaign Participant
  • Lester V. Smith Jr., Portland, Ore.
  • Conrad Boyd Sturges Jr., Louisburg, N.C.
  • John Bradsher Taylor Jr., Charlotte, N.C.
  • Marvin Edward Taylor Jr., Raleigh, N.C.
  • Henry Whitehead Underhill Jr., Seattle, Wash.
  • Charles Julian Vaughan, Littleton, N.C.
  • Edwin Allen Waite Jr., Saint George, Utah
  • J. Donald Walsh, Indianapolis, Ind.
  • The Honorable Willis Padgett Whichard, Chapel Hill, N.C . Reunion Campaign Participant
  • George Arthur Williamson, Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

Classmates No Longer with Us

  • A. Marshall Basinger II
  • Mosley Graham Boyette Jr.
  • Owen Waddell Cook
  • William Harvey Dalton
  • George Patrick Davis Jr.
  • William Casto Evans
  • Joe Alan Gambill
  • Rafford Eugene Jones
  • David Allen Manko
  • Henry Stancill Manning Jr.
  • Phillip Ray Matthews
  • Timothy Gordon McCollum
  • George Evans Mitchell
  • John Richard Newton
  • Ann Holsonback Phillips
  • F. Alfred Pollard Jr.
  • John Manly Reece
  • John Frank Renger Jr.
  • John Hoyte Stultz Jr.
  • Philip Morris Thomas
  • Bernard Jerome Warshauer
  • Norman Ellis Williams
  • John Darby Wood
UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.