Faculty Awards (2008-2009)

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

In the spring of 2009, the school instituted four new awards given by the dean upon recommendation of a faculty committee. Three of the awards were bestowed this year; one will be given in alternating years beginning in 2010.

The Byrd Award

This new award is named for Robert G. Byrd, a UNC law alumnus who served on faculty from 1963-2004 and was dean from 1974-1979. Byrd was the Burton Craige Professor of Law, a contributor to the North Carolina General Statutes Commission, a leading expert on torts and a master teacher. The Byrd Award is conferred upon a teacher whose courses are principally in the 1L curriculum, who teaches small classes or clinics or who employs a vigorous and creative classroom approach.

Melissa Jacoby
George R. Ward Professor of Law

As an expert in bankruptcy, contracts, corporate reorganization and secured transactions, Jacoby has a gift for presenting challenging material in ways that are clear to her students. She is known for her high expectations of students and praised for providing constructive feedback in her writing courses.

The Chadbourn Award

This new award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review from 1930-1931 and a member of the UNC law faculty from 1931-1936. In 1933, while at UNC, he authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award recognizes a faculty member for publication of an academic journal article that shows great scholarly achievement, creativity and insight, and/or the promise of critical impact.

Thomas A. Kelley III
Associate Professor of Law
"Unintended Consequences of Legal Westernization in Niger: Harming Contemporary Slaves by Reconceptualizing Property," American Journal of Comparative Law, Vol. 56.

Kelley's article is a model for grounding scholarship about law reform through fieldwork. He argues that the wave of westernization that has swept over Nigerien property law with the intention of bettering the lives of Nigerien slaves has had the perverse effect of worsening their lives. His research is based on available literature and on ethnographic interviews conducted during his year-long study as a Fulbright Scholar in Niger.

The Van Hecke-Wettach Award

This new award is named for Maurice Van Hecke and Robert Wettach. Van Hecke was a professor of law at UNC from 1928-1963, founder of the North Carolina Law Review and dean from 1931-1941. He was a Kenan Professor of Law and received the first Thomas Jefferson Award bestowed by the university. In 1956, he was president of the Association of American Law Schools. Wettach was a professor of law at UNC from 1921-1949 and dean from 1941-1949. He was chair of the UNC Faculty Council and chair of the board of the UNC Press. The award is conferred in the spring semester of alternating years, and it is awarded for scholarly accomplishment, creativity and/or national significance, with preference for a book or substantial monograph.

The first award will be bestowed in 2010.

The Outstanding Service Award

This new award is conferred on the basis of public service performed within the previous two years, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted, as well as the significance of its impact on the community served.

Kenneth S. Broun
Henry Brandis Professor of Law

In addition to teaching evidence and ethics, Broun has been an outstanding law school and University citizen. He served as chair of the 2007-2008 faculty appointments committee, as a member of the school's ABA Self-Study Committee and as a member of the search committee that named Holden Thorp as UNC's 10th chancellor. He was appointed by then-Chancellor Moeser as chair of the Leadership Advisory Committee for Carolina North. He is the former mayor of the Town of Chapel Hill and former dean of UNC School of Law.

The McCall Teaching Award for Excellence

The McCall Award has been given since 1967. It is named for Frederick B. McCall, who was on the faculty for more than 40 years and was a scholar of property and estates law, a contributor to the North Carolina General Statutes Commission and a celebrated teacher. The award was established by students. Members of the third-year class present this award each year, and the recipient has the opportunity to speak at commencement.

Kenneth S. Broun
Henry Brandis Professor of Law

Broun has taught evidence to generations of Carolina Law students, and the Class of 2009 selected him for this honor because of his approachable, challenging and engaging style of teaching. He previously won the McCall Teaching Award in 1978.

The McCall Master Teachers' Society

In an innovation begun in 2009, a faculty member who receives the McCall Award at least three times becomes a member of the McCall Master Teachers' Society. The inaugural faculty members are:

Lissa Lamkin Broome
Wachovia Professor of Banking Law

and director of the Center for Banking and Finance
McCall Award Recipient in 1986, 1992, 1995, and 1998

A four-time McCall winner, Broome is the director of the UNC Center for Banking and Finance, and she serves as faculty advisor to the North Carolina Banking Institute Journal. She also heads the school's Director Diversity Initiative, which works to increase gender, racial and ethnic diversity on the boards of directors of publicly traded corporations in North Carolina and throughout the United States.

Donald Thomas Hornstein
Aubrey L. Brooks Professor of Law
McCall Award Recipient in 1989, 1990, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, and 2007

Hornstein is a seven-time McCall winner, the most in the past 40 years. He teaches administrative law and insurance law, and has served as a visiting professor of law at the University of Asmara in Eritrea, Africa, under the auspices of the Fulbright Scholar program.

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.