Faculty Awards (2011-2012)

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

UNC School of Law presented four awards to distinguished faculty on Tuesday, April 24, 2012, in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center. Faculty members Ruth Ann McKinney, clinical professor of law and former assistant dean for legal writing and academic success, who retired in January after 20 years at the law school; and Joseph John Kalo, Graham Kenan Professor of Law, who has been at UNC School of Law since 1972 and retired July 1, were also recognized for their service.

The awards presented include:

The Byrd Award

Elizabeth Gibson

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

S. Elizabeth Gibson
Burton Craige Professor of Law

The Chadbourn Award

Richard S. Saver

The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court, and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article.

Richard S. Saver, Professor of Law
"Health Care Reform's Wild Card: The Uncertain Effectiveness of Comparative Effectiveness Research"
University of Pennsylvania Law Review

The Van Hecke-Wettach Award

Maxine Eichner

Every second year, the law school awards the Van Hecke-Wettach Award -- named for two UNC Law deans of the 1930s and 1940s respectively, Maurice van Hecke and Robert Wettach -- for the completion of an outstanding book or monograph.

Maxine Eichner, Reef C. Ivey II Professor of Law
"The Supportive State: Families, Government, and America's Political Ideals," published by Oxford University Press

The Outstanding Service Award

Charles Daye

This award is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

Charles Edward Daye
Henry Brandis Professor of Law
and Deputy Director of the Center for Civil Rights

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.