Faculty Awards (2013-2014)

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

UNC School of Law presented four awards to distinguished faculty on Wednesday, April 30, 2014 in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center.

The awards presented include:

The Byrd Award

Jon McClanahan

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

Jon P. McClanahan
Assistant Dean for Academic Excellence and Clinical Associate Professor of Law

The Chadbourn Award

John Coyle

The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court, and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article.

John F. Coyle
Assistant Professor of Law
"The Treaty of Friendship, Commerce, and Navigation in the Modern Era"
Columbia Journal of Transnational Law, 2013

The Van Hecke-Wettach Award

Michael Gerhardt

Every second year, the law school awards the Van Hecke-Wettach Award -- named for two UNC Law deans of the 1930s and 1940s respectively, Maurice van Hecke and Robert Wettach -- for the completion of an outstanding book or monograph.

Michael J. Gerhardt
Samuel Ashe Distinguished Professor in Constitutional Law
"The Forgotten Presidents: Their Untold Constitutional Legacy"
Oxford University Press

The Outstanding Service Award

Donald Hornstein

This award is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

Donald T. Hornstein
Aubrey L. Brooks Professor of Law

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.