Pro Bono Program Announces 2017 Publico Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
From left, Sarah Colwell '14, Kirstin Gardner 3L, Lauren Kulp 2L, Professor Brophy, Josephine Kim 3L and Florence Bryan 1L. Not pictured, BLSA president Ebonei Simpkins 2L.  

The board of the UNC School of Law Pro Bono Program awarded the 2017 recipients of the Pro Bono Publico Awards at the annual Pro Bono Celebration Thursday, April 13. In addition to the awards, graduating students with more than 75 pro bono hours were recognized. This year's award recipients included:

  • Sylvia K. Novinsky Award - Kirstin Gardner 3L
  • 3L Student of the Year - Josephine Kim 3L
  • 2L Student of the Year - Lauren Kulp 2L
  • 1L Student of the Year - Florence Bryan1L
  • Group Pro Bono Project of the Year - Black Law Students Association's Wills Project, accepted on behalf of BLSA by President Ebonei Simpkins 2L
  • Faculty/Professor of the Year - Alfred Brophy, Judge John J. Parker Distinguished Professor of Law
  • Alumna of the Year - Sarah Colwell '14

Learn more about the award winners. Award nominations may be submitted by alumni, legal organizations, or any member of the Carolina Law community.

-April 18, 2017

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.