39 Honored at 22nd Annual Gressman and Pollitt Oral Advocacy Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit

UNC School of Law congratulates 39 first-year law students who received a Eugene Gressman & Daniel H. Pollitt Oral Advocacy Award on April 19. The annual awards, given by faculty of the Writing and Learning Resources Center, recognize outstanding oral advocacy in the first-year Research, Reasoning, Writing, and Advocacy (RRWA) Program. This year marked the 22nd anniversary celebration of the awards. The RRWA program, now in its sixth year as a full-year, six-credit program, ranks No. 18 in legal writing by U.S. News & World Report.

The awards' sponsor is the firm of Johnston, Allison & Hord of Charlotte. Carolina Law alumnus and former partner at Johnston, Allison & Hord, Michael L. Wilson ’96, worked with Professor Emeritus Ruth McKinney '88 to establish the awards in 1995. The awards honor Eugene Gressman, William Rand Kenan Jr. Professor of Law Emeritus, and Daniel H. Pollitt, Graham Kenan Professor of Law Emeritus, who both passed away in 2010.

Gressman Pollitt Award Winners 2015

The RRWA professors and their award recipients are:

Kevin Bennardo – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 4:

  1. Aaron D. Davison
  2. Brandon D. Friedman
  3. Nicole O’Donnell

Section 11:

  1. James Griffith McLeod
  2. Kahlil Perine
  3. Caitlin Willen

Kaci Bishop – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 2:

  1. Courtney Elisabeth Bain
  2. Taylor D. Carrere
  3. Lashieka D. Hardin

Section 13:

  1. Nathaniel W. Reisinger
  2. Joscelyn Solomon
  3. Brian Nicholas Webb

Alexa Chew – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 1:

  1. Kelly R. Hebrank
  2. Phillip Pullen
  3. Thomas Zamadics

Section 10:

  1. Sabrina Galli
  2. Rachel C. Kokenes
  3. Brooke R. Watson

Luke Everett – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 9:

  1. Evan Hiatt
  2. Natalie Minois
  3. Anup Shrinivasan

Rachel Gurvich – Clinical Assistant Professor of Law

Section 8:

  1. Emma Ferriola-Bruckenstein
  2. Matthew L. Ledford
  3. Thomas Walker

Section 12:

  1. Caitlin Elizabeth Haff
  2. Anthony James McCue
  3. Sara Devota Swartzwelder

O.J. Salinas – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 3: 

  1. William R. Cauley
  2. Marie Farmer
  3. Tara Summerville

Section 5:

  1. Kenneth Bernard Black, Jr.
  2. Florence Bryan
  3. Edward B. Woodall

Craig T. Smith – Assistant Dean and Clinical Professor of Law

Section 6:

  1. Robert Harrington
  2. Bari Alexandra Ray
  3. Kelly Waldo

Sara B. Warf – Clinical Assistant Professor of Law

Section 7:

  1. Daniel Jason Fry
  2. Sierra H. Lyda
  3. Alexis Weiss

-April 20, 2017

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.