School Announces Faculty Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
Award Winners
Professor Alexa Chew, Professor Erika Wilson, Professor O.J. Salinas, Professor Al Brophy, Professor Mark Weisburd, and Professor Joan Krause.

UNC School of Law presented four awards to distinguished faculty on Thursday, April 20, in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center.

The awards presented include:

Joan Krause

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Joan H. Krause , Dan K. Moore Distinguished Professor of Law. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

Erika K. Wilson

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Erika K. Wilson , Assistant Professor of Law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article.

Al Brophy
Mark Weisburd

The Van Hecke-Wettach Award, awarded to Alfred L. Brophy , Judge John J. Parker Distinguished Professor of Law, for his book University, Court, and Slave: Proslavery Thought in Southern Colleges and Courts and the Coming of Civil War (Oxford University Press, 2016) and A. Mark Weisburd, Reef C. Ivey II Distinguished Professor of Law, for his book Failings of the International Court of Justice (Oxford University Press, 2015). Every second year, the law school awards the Van Hecke-Wettach Award -- named for two Carolina Law deans of the 1930s and 1940s respectively, Maurice van Hecke and Robert Wettach -- for the completion of an outstanding book or monograph.

O.J. Salinas
Alexa Chew

The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service, awarded to Oscar J. "O.J." Salinas, Clinical Associate Professor of Law, and Alexa Z. Chew, Clinical Associate Professor of Law. This award is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to the year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

Jack Boger
Judith Wegner

At Thursday's ceremony, John Charles "Jack" Boger '74, Wade Edwards Distinguished Professor of Law, and Judith Welch Wegner, Burton Craig Professor of Law, Emeritus, were also recognized for their years of service to the law school. Wegner served as dean from 1989 to 1999. Boger served as dean from 2006-2015. Both retired this academic year.


-April 21, 2017

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.