Broome Receives Burton Craige Distinguished Professorship

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
Lissa Broome

UNC School of Law Professor Lissa L. Broome was honored at an Aug. 28 reception congratulating this year’s recipients of distinguished professorships. Broome received the Burton Craige Distinguished Professorship, a title that honors professors for their entire UNC career.

“A distinguished professorship is one of the most prestigious and visible honors that The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill can bestow upon a member of the faculty, and it is a symbol of the value your colleagues have placed on your research and scholarship,” said Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost James W. Dean Jr. in a letter to Broome earlier this year.

At Carolina Law, Broome serves as director of the Center for Banking and Finance and as faculty advisor to the North Carolina Banking Institute Journal. She also heads the school’s Director Diversity Initiative, which seeks to increase diversity on the boards of directors of publicly traded corporations in North Carolina and across the United States. She joined the school’s faculty in 1984. Broome also serves as the University’s Faculty Athletics Representative to the ACC and the NCAA.

The Burton Craige Professorships were established by the late Burton Craige in 1941. Craige said it was his “wish to encourage and inspire at Chapel Hill a love of political or legal wisdom.” Professors in the UNC School of Law and the Department of Political Science are eligible to hold the professorships.

-September 26, 2017

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.