Holderness Moot Court Fall 2017 Competition Season Roundup

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit

Arbitration Team

Carolina Law’s newest team, the Arbitration Team, competed for the first time in November in the ABA Law School Division Regional Arbitration Competition in Pittsburgh. The team worked with Trial Advocacy Team members Marie Farmer 2L, Will Graebe 3L, Lauren Margolies 3L, Graham Morgan 3L, Jeff Warren 3L and their coach Professor Mark Weidemaier to prepare for the competition and proudly represent UNC School of Law. From left, Nicolas Eason 2L, Professor Mark Weidemaier, Sheri Dickson 2L, Rebecca Floyd 2L and Blake Benson 2L.

With the end of the Fall 2017 competition season concluding over the weekend, UNC School of Law’s Holderness Moot Court continued to represent the school with the same types of success that it marked in the Fall of 2016. The highlights this year include:

  • Finalist Award and Second Place Overall at the 10th annual National Latino Law Student Association Moot Court Competition by the Hispanic Latino/Latina Law School Association Appellate Advocacy Team, composed of Taylor Festa 3L and Martin Hodgins 3L.

  • Sweet Sixteen Appearance at Emory University's National Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Moot Court Competition by one of Holderness' Julius Chambers Civil Rights Appellate Advocacy Teams, composed of Austin Braxton 3L, Matthew Taylor 3L and Alexandra Snow 3L.

  • Final Four Appearance and 3rd Place Overall  at the William & Mary Negotiations Competition by one of Holderness' 2L Negotiation Teams, composed of Braxton Reyna 2L and Jasmine Plott 2L.

  • Elite Eight Appearance at the NYCBA National Moot Court Regional Competition at the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals by one of Holderness' National Appellate Advocacy Teams, composed of Rachel Rice 3L, Rachel VanCamp 3L and Peter Kelly 3L.

  • First Place in Preliminary Rounds, Final Four Appearance and 4th Place Overall at the ABA Arbitration Competition by Holderness' newest team, the Arbitration Team, composed of Blake Benson 2L, Sheri Dickson 2L, Nicolas Eason 2L and Rebecca Floyd 2L. 

“The students representing UNC in the arbitration competition this past weekend did extremely well,” Professor Mark Weidemaier said. “They advanced to the semi-finals after winning the preliminary round, earning by far the highest score of the ten competing teams. They were edged out in the first competition of the semifinal round, ultimately placing fourth. Coaching credit goes to Will Graebe 3L, and a variety of other students with past trial team experience.”

As we applaud the accomplishments of those highlighted above, Holderness applauds equally those students who prepared so professionally and represented Carolina Law so beautifully at its Fall competitions:

  • The 2L International Team, composed of Lauren Toole 2L, Sabrina Galli 2L, William Patrick 2L and Phil Pullen 2L, at the Middle Temple Moot Court Competition at the N.C. Court of Appeals in Raleigh, hosted by Carolina Law.

  • The Asian American Law Student Association Appellate Advocacy Team, composed of Richard Chen 3L, Farrah Raja 3L, Xialou Sheng 2L and Tae Hun Park 2L at the Thomas Tang National Moot Court Competition.

  • The 3L National Negotiations Team, composed of Emily Jessup 3L, Kyle Jones 3L, Roy Dixon 3L and Jack Middough 3L at the ABA's National Negotiation Competition Regional Championship in Boston, MA.

  • The 3L Invitational Negotiations Team, composed of Evan Ryland 3L and Francis Ahia 3L, and the 2L Negotiations Team, composed of Evan Dancy 2L and W. Coker Holmes 2L at the William & Mary Negotiations Competition.

  • The 3L National Appellate Advocacy Team, (and last year's First-Place Winners of the Charleston National Moot Court Competition) composed of Hanna Fox 3L, Emily Notini 3L and Jeff Warren 3L, at the NYCBA National Moot Court Regional Championship at the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.

In addition to the members of Holderness highlighted above, Carolina Law’s competitive squads were coached and advised by more than four dozen faculty members, practicing attorneys, and fellow students (including members of the school’s Trial Advocacy Team assisting the new Arbitration Team). Holderness expresses its thanks to all our competitors and to the school’s ever-dedicated elite-skills community, with special thanks to team coaches Professor Mark Weidemaier and Will Graebe 3L (Arbitration Team), Professor Sam Jackson ’77 (Negotiation Team), Professor O.J. Salinas (HLLSA Team), Professor Catherine Kim (AALSA Team), Professors Mark Dorosin ’94 and Ted Shaw (Civil Rights Team), and Professor Don Hornstein (National Team).  

-November 27, 2017

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.