Pro Bono Program Announces 2018 Publico Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
From left, Nicole E. Burleson 2L, Jonathan V. Lewis 3L, Meghan K. Moran 2L, Chelsea K. Barnes 3L, Professor Donald T. Hornstein, Charles J. Johnson, Chief Justice Mark D. Martin '88, Miranda E. Goot 1L, Jake W. Edwards 3L, Emily Mistr '06. Not pictured: Ann Wall '78.  

The board of the UNC School of Law Pro Bono Program awarded the 2018 recipients of the Pro Bono Publico Awards at the annual Pro Bono Celebration Thursday, April 12. North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark D. Martin '88 gave the keynote address and congratulated the Class of 2018 for reaching a milestone: 100 percent participation in pro bono projects.

In addition to the awards, graduating students with more than 75 pro bono hours were recognized, as well as Law Students Against Sexual and Domestic Violence, which received UNC-Chapel Hill's Robert E. Bryan Public Service Award. This year's award recipients included:

  • Sylvia K. Novinsky Award - Charles J. Johnson 3L
  • 3L Student of the Year - Jake W. Edwards 3L
  • 2L Student of the Year - Meghan K. Moran 2L
  • 1L Student of the Year - Miranda E. Goot 1L
  • Group Pro Bono Project of the Year - Native American Law Students Association's Wills Clinic, accepted on behalf of NALSA by Chelsea K. Barnes 3L, Nicole E. Burleson 2L and Jonathan V. Lewis 3L
  • Faculty Member of the Year - Donald T. Hornstein, Aubrey L. Brooks Professor of Law
  • Alumnae of the Year - Emily Mistr '06 and Ann Wall '78

Learn more about the award winners. Award nominations may be submitted by alumni, legal organizations, or any member of the Carolina Law community.

-April 12, 2018

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.