39 Honored at 23rd Annual Gressman and Pollitt Oral Advocacy Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit

UNC School of Law congratulates 39 first-year law students who received a Eugene Gressman & Daniel H. Pollitt Oral Advocacy Award on April 18. The annual awards, given by faculty of the Writing and Learning Resources Center, recognize outstanding oral advocacy in the first-year Research, Reasoning, Writing, and Advocacy (RRWA) Program. This year marked the 23rd anniversary celebration of the awards. The RRWA program, now in its seventh year as a full-year, six-credit program, ranks No. 12 in legal writing by U.S. News & World Report.

The awards' sponsor is the firm of Johnston, Allison & Hord of Charlotte. Carolina Law alumnus and former partner at Johnston, Allison & Hord, Michael L. Wilson '96, worked with Professor Emerita Ruth McKinney '88 to establish the awards in 1995. Gary J. Welch '94, a partner at Johnston, Allison & Hord, spoke at the ceremony and congratulated this year's recipients. The awards honor Eugene Gressman, William Rand Kenan Jr. Professor of Law Emeritus, and Daniel H. Pollitt, Graham Kenan Professor of Law Emeritus, who both passed away in 2010.

Gressman Pollitt Award Winners

The RRWA professors and their award recipients are:

Kevin Bennardo – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 3:

  • Luke P. de Leon
  • Briana N. Kelly
  • Brittany M. Rustad

Section 6:

  • Vanessa Canuto
  • Eric Fisher
  • Blake Leger

Kaci Bishop – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 4:

  • Matthew Lee Farley
  • Jake Haskins
  • Nor Ortiz

Alexa Chew – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 1:

  • Erica R. Bluford
  • Louisa Clark
  • Francis C. Pray, III

Section 11:

  • Rebecca Fisher
  • Nur Kara
  • Ker Medero

Luke Everett – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 5:

  • Anna Carolina Conaway
  • Sarah Hoffman
  • Julio Mario Zaconet Valentin

Section 12:

  • Jessica O’Brien
  • Jennifer Krystal Serrano
  • Carlos Zapata

Rachel Gurvich – Clinical Assistant Professor of Law

Section 2:

  • Ashley Nicole Fox
  • Lena A. Madison
  • Darpan N. Patel

Section 8:

  • Camille Bachrach
  • Brandon Mayes
  • Brett Orren

Pete Nemerovski – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 7:

  • Nakia Lynn Arrington
  • Christopher Broughton
  • Jenna Rae Mazzella

Section 10:

  • Sloane Echevarria
  • Rachel Posey
  • Alexandria ter Avest

Craig T. Smith – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 9:

  • Mackenzie Lain Harmon
  • Robert Aaron McGlothlin
  • Kisha Patel

Sara B. Warf – Clinical Associate Professor of Law

Section 13:

  • Miranda Goot
  • Alexandra M. Hernandez
  • Fara Soubouti

-April 20, 2018

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.