School Announces Faculty Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
Award Winners
Professor Jeffrey Hirsch, Professor Catherine Kim, Professor Barbara Fedders, Professor Mark Weisburd and Dean Martin Brinkley '92.

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on Tuesday, April 24, in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center.

The awards presented include:

Barbara Fedders

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Barbara A. Fedders, Assistant Professor of Law. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

Catherine Y. Kim

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Catherine Y. Kim, George R. Ward Term Professor of Law, Associate Professor of Law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article. Kim was recognized for her article "Plenary Power in the Modern Administrative State" (96 N.C. L. Rev. 77, 2017).

Jeffrey M. Hirsch

The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service, awarded to Jeffrey M. Hirsch , Associate Dean for Strategy and Geneva Yeargan Rand Distinguished Professor of Law. This award is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to the year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

Mark Weisburd

At Tuesday's ceremony, Arthur Mark Weisburd was also recognized for his years of teaching service to the law school. Weisburd retired this academic year after 37 years at Carolina Law.


-April 26, 2018

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.