School Announces Annual Faculty Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
Group photo
The 2019 UNC School of Law Faculty Award Recipients. From left, Nichol, Jacoby, Mosteller, Everett, Coyle and Dean Martin H. Brinkley '92.

UNC School of Law presented four awards to distinguished faculty on Wednesday, April 17, in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center.

The awards presented include:

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Lewis Moore “Luke” Everett ’08, Clinical Associate Professor of Law. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.
The Van Hecke-Wettach Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Gene R. Nichol, Boyd Tinsley Distinguished Professor of Law. Every second year, the law school awards the Van Hecke-Wettach Award -- named for two Carolina Law deans of the 1930s and 1940s respectively, Maurice van Hecke and Robert Wettach -- for the completion of an outstanding book or monograph. Nichol was recognized for his book “The Faces of Poverty in North Carolina: Stories from Our Invisible Citizens” (UNC Press, 2018).
The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to Melissa B. Jacoby,Graham Kenan Professor of Law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the Carolina Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article. Jacoby was recognized for her article “Corporate Bankruptcy Hybridity” (166 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1715, 2018).
The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service, awarded to John F. Coyle,Reef C. Ivey II Term Professor of Law, Associate Professor of Law. This award is conferred annually based on service performed within the two years prior to the year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.
At Wednesday’s ceremony, Robert P. Mosteller, J. Dickson Phillips Distinguished Professor of Law, was also recognized for 10 years of teaching service to the law school. Mosteller retired this academic year after a decade at Carolina Law and before that, 25 years at Duke Law.

-April 25, 2019

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.