Humrickhouse '80 Appointed Judge on U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Eastern District of N.C.

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit has appointed Stephani W. Humrickhouse '80 as the new United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Eastern District of North Carolina. Judge Humrickhouse will replace Judge A. Thomas Small and be stationed in Raleigh, North Carolina. Judge Humrickhouse took the oath of office in a Special Ceremonial Session of Court on Jan. 6, 2010. 

Judge Humrickhouse was born in Monticello, NY. She attended Cornell University and graduated with a bachelor of science degree in industrial and labor relations and received her law degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prior to her appointment, Judge Humrickhouse worked as an attorney (principal) with the law firm of Nicholls & Crampton, P.A. in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Judge Humrickhouse has vast experience in the areas of civil corporate litigation and debtor/creditor rights. She is certified as a Bankruptcy Law Specialist by the North Carolina State Bar and as a Business Bankruptcy Specialist by the American Board of Specialization. She has been a frequent lecturer on bankruptcy and bankruptcy related topics, served as chair of the North Carolina Bar Association Bankruptcy Section, and has served as chair of the Attorney Advisory Group and Local Rules Committee for the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of North Carolina. Judge Humrickhouse and husband, Scott Humrickhouse reside in Raleigh.

-January 4, 2010

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.