School Announces Faculty Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on Thurs., April 28, in a ceremony at the Carolina Club, and honored retiring faculty member Kenneth S. Broun.

The awards presented include:

The Byrd Award

The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

John V. Orth
William Rand Kenan Jr. Professor of Law

The Chadbourn Award

The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court, and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article.

Gregg D. Polsky
Willie Person Mangum Professor of Law
"Taxing Punitive Damages"
Virginia Law Review, Vol. 96, 2010

The Outstanding Service Award

This award is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

Ruth A. McKinney
Clinical Professor of Law and
Assistant Dean for Legal Writing and Academic Success

A special recognition plaque was given to Kenneth S. Broun, Henry Brandis Professor of Law, in appreciation of his 43 years of devoted service as a member of the UNC School of Law faculty and as the school's dean from 1979-1987. Broun retires this spring.

-April 29, 2011

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.