School Announces Faculty Awards

  • E-mail E-mail
  • Google+
  • Reddit Reddit
Faculty Award Winners

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on Wednesday, May 1, in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center.

The awards presented include:

The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching, awarded to Joseph E. Kennedy , professor of law. The Byrd Award is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship, awarded to W. Mark C. Weidemaier , assistant professor of law. The Chadbourn Award is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court, and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article.

The Outstanding Service Award, awarded to Laura N. Gasaway , Paul B. Eaton Distinguished Professor of Law. This award is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

Retiring Faculty Members

At Wednesday's ceremony Dean John Charles "Jack" Boger '74 also recognized the service of Robert P. Mosteller, J. Dickson Phillips Distinguished Professor of Law, who will step down as associate dean for academic affairs in June after three years in the position. The retirement of two faculty members was also celebrated at the event. Gasaway will retire at the end of June after serving as director of the law library from 1985-2006 and associate dean for academic affairs from 2006 to 2010; and Caroline N. Brown, professor of law, who has been at UNC School of Law since 1979, is entering phased retirement for the next three years.

-May 6, 2013

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.