Faculty Awards

Page History

Choose an Area to Edit

Current Left Navigation Widgets

Current Page Widgets

Choose the Number of Areas for This Page

NOTE: Reducing the number of areas will permanently delete any content and widgets in the removed area(s).

Area Positions

  • Area 1 is the main column for the page
  • Area 2 appears to the right of area 1
  • Area 3 appears under area 1

UNC School of Law presented three awards to distinguished faculty on April 17, 2019, in a ceremony at the Paul J. Rizzo Conference Center.

The awards presented include:

The Byrd Award


The Robert G. Byrd Award for Excellence and Creativity in Teaching is named for Robert G. Byrd, an alumnus of the school who served as a member of the faculty from 1963 until 2004, and as dean from 1974-1979.

Lewis Moore “Luke” Everett ’08 Clinical Associate Professor of Law

The Van Hecke-Wettach Award


Every second year, the law school awards the Van Hecke-Wettach Award -- named for two Carolina Law deans of the 1930s and 1940s respectively, Maurice van Hecke and Robert Wettach -- for the completion of an outstanding book or monograph. 

Gene R. Nichol Boyd Tinsley Distinguished Professor of Law
“The Faces of Poverty in North Carolina: Stories from Our Invisible Citizens” (UNC Press, 2018)

The Chadbourn Award


The James H. Chadbourn Award for Excellence in Scholarship is named for James H. Chadbourn, editor-in-chief of the North Carolina Law Review in 1930-1931, a member of the UNC Law faculty from 1931-1936, and a co-author of leading texts in civil procedure, federal court, and evidence. In 1933, while at UNC, Chadbourn bravely authored a controversial work titled "Lynching and the Law." This award honors a faculty member's distinguished law journal article.

Melissa B. Jacoby
Graham Kenan Professor of Law
“Corporate Bankruptcy Hybridity” (166 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1715, 2018)

The Charles E. Daye Award


The Charles E. Daye Award for Excellence in Service is conferred annually on the basis of service performed within the two years prior to year in which the award is given. A faculty member is honored for exemplary public service, measured by the time, effort and creativity devoted to service, as well as the impact on the community.

John F. Coyle
Reef C. Ivey II Term Professor of Law, Associate Professor of Law

Retiring Faculty


Robert P. Mosteller J. Dickson Phillips Distinguished Professor of Law, Emeritus

UNC School of Law | Van Hecke-Wettach Hall | 160 Ridge Road, CB #3380 | Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3380 | 919.962.5106 | Accessibility

If you are seeing this, you are either using a non-graphical browser or Netscape 4.x (4.7, 4.8, etc.) and this page appears very plain. If you are using a 4.x version of Netscape, this site is fully functional but lacks styles and optimizations available in other browsers. For full functionality, please upgrade your browser to the latest version of Internet Explorer or Firefox.